Yoga Tarot Challenge: Quick Reference Guide

If you’re interested in doing your own Yoga and Tarot practice, daily draw, or challenge, here is the compiled list of the tarot cards and the poses I used with each of them. Of course, I encourage everyone to use whatever pose speaks to them through the cards (and different decks will probably call for different asanas) so think of this as a jumping off point.

Everything is linked to my posts, if you’re interested in using the reflective prompt as well.

NOTE: I’ve listed the Major Arcana first then the Minor Arcana in each suit. Even though the Yoga Tarot deck uses a different order for the Majors than what is common these days, I have listed it in the more familiar order. I also used the standard titles, such as “Page” and “Cups” instead of the Yoga Tarot’s “Knave” and “Chalices,” just to remain more universal for anyone just starting out.

∅. The Fool | Vasisthasana (Side Plank Pose)

I. The Magician | Sukhasana (Easy Pose)

II. The High Priestess | Sukhasana Pushan Mudra (Easy Pose Nourishment Seal)

III. The Empress | Utkata Konasana (Goddess Pose)

IV. The Emperor | Virabhadrasana (Warrior II)

V. The Hierophant | Vajrasana (Thunderbolt Pose)

VI. The Lovers | Garudasana (seated)

VII. The Chariot | Utkatasana (Chair Pose)

VIII. Justice | Virabhadrasana III (Warrior III Pose)

IX. The Hermit | Sukhasana (Easy Pose) with Pranayama

X. The Wheel of Fortune | Chakrasana (Wheel Pose)

XI. Strength | Adho Mukha Śvānāsana (Downward-Facing Dog)

XII. The Hanged Man | Sirasana (Headstand)

XIII. Death | Jathara Parivartanasana (Revolved Abdomen Pose)

XIV. Temperance | Siddhasana Vayu Mudra (Accomplished Pose Wind Seal)

XV. The Devil | Kurmasana (Tortoise Pose)

XVI. The Tower | Adho Mukha Vrksasana (Handstand)

XVII. The Star | Parivrtta Anjaneyasana (Revolved Lunge)

XVIII. The Moon | Kapotasana (Pigeon Pose)

XIX. The Sun | Surya Namaskara (Sun Salutation)

XX. Judgment | Parsva Bakasana (Side Crow Pose)

XXI. The World | Eka Pada Vasisthasana (Side Plank)

Ace of Swords | Phalakasana (Plank Pose)

2 of Swords | Paschimottanasana (Seated Forward Bend)

3 of Swords | Bhujapidasana (Shoulder Pressing Pose)

4 of Swords | Bharadvaja’s Twist

5 of Swords | Lolasana (Pendant Pose)

6 of Swords | Navasana (Boat Pose)

7 of Swords | Supta Baddha Konasana (Reclining Bound Angle Pose)

8 of Swords | Mrigashirsha Mudra (Deer Head Seal)

9 of Swords | Trikonasana (Triangle Pose, left)

10 of Swords | Sukhasana Anjali Mudra (Easy Pose Divine Offering Seal)

Page of Swords | Utthita Pada Srisasana (Split-Leg Headstand)

Knight of Swords | Garudasana (Eagle Pose)

Queen of Swords | Urdhva Hasta Sukhasana (Easy Pose Upward Salute)

King of Swords | Urdva Hasta Tadasana (Mountain Pose Upward Salute)

Ace of Cups | Padma Mudra (Lotus Seal)

2 of Cups | Vrikshasana (Tree Pose)

3 of Cups | Marjaryasana/Bitilasana (Cat/Cow Pose)

4 of Cups | Trikonasana (Triangle Pose, right)

5 of Cups | Sarvangasana (Supported Shoulderstand)

6 of Cups | Matsyasana (Fish Pose)

7 of Cups | Bakasana (Crow Pose)

8 of Cups | Gomukhasana (Cow Face Pose)

9 of Cups | Vajrasana Gyan Mudra (Thunderbolt Pose Knowledge Seal)

10 of Cups | Utthita Tadasana (Star Pose)

Page of Cups | Tadasana Dhyana Mudra (Mountain Pose Meditation Seal)

Knight of Cups | Vatayanasana (Horse Pose)

Queen of Cups | Siddhasana Anjali Mudra (Accomplished Pose Divine Offering Seal)

King of Cups | Tadasana Anjali Mudra (Mountain Pose Divine Offering Seal)

Ace of Wands | Bhujangasana (Cobra Pose)

2 of Wands | Ardha Baddha Parivrtta Malasana (Half-Bound Squat)

3 of Wands | Hanumanasana (Monkey Pose)

4 of Wands | Paripurna Ustrasana (Full Camel Pose)

5 of Wands | Dandasana (Staff Pose)

6 of Wands | Natarajasana (King Dancer Pose)

7 of Wands | Salabhasana (Locust Pose)

8 of Wands | Virabadhrasana I Agni Mudra (Warrior I Fire Seal)

9 of Wands | Vajrasana (on toes)

10 of Wands | Eka Pada Urdhva Dhanurasana (One-Legged Upward Bow Pose)

Page of Wands | Malasana (Garland Pose)

Knight of Wands | Vajrasana with Agni-Prasana (Thunderbolt Pose with Breath of Fire)

Queen of Wands | Padmasana Kali Mudra (Lotus Pose Fire Seal)

King of Wands | Tadasana Agni Mudra (Mountain Pose Fire Seal)

Ace of Pentacles | Balasana (Child’s Pose)

2 of Pentacles | Shavasana (Corpse Pose)

3 of Pentacles | Setu Bandha Sarvangasana (Bridge Pose)

4 of Pentacles |Parsvottanasana (Pyramid Pose)

5 of Pentacles | Salamba Sarvangasana Padmasana (Lotus Shoulder Stand)

6 of Pentacles | Tadasana Gomukhasana (Mountain, Cow Face Pose)

7 of Pentacles | Vrishchikasana (Scorpion Pose)

8 of Pentacles | Dhanurasana (Bow Pose)

9 of Pentacles | Prasarita Padottanasana (Pyramid Pose)

10 of Pentacles | Halasana (Plow Pose)

Page of Pentacles | Vajrasana Anjali Mudra Ajna (Thunderbolt Pose Fire Seal on Third Eye Chakra)

Knight of Pentacles | Kukkutasana (Rooster Pose)

Queen of Pentacles | Adho Mukha Sukhasana (Easy Pose Forward Fold)

King of Pentacles | Uttanasana (Forward Fold) or Bhumisparsa Mudra (Touching the Earth Seal)

Thank you so much to those who followed along and gave me encouragement in this challenge. I hope this guide can inspire others to take this journey! I would love to hear about others’ experiences.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s